Turrón (my own way)

I love Spanish traditional Christmas sweets. Polvorones and turrones have been my weakness during the past three years.

T3

However, I wanted to try to make my own turrón this year since I’m no longer living in Madrid.

I’ve been reading a lot of recipes but they all have a lot of sugar. As my stomach has been getting upset after I eat too much sugar, I decided to make my own turrón recipe even though it didn’t taste the same as the traditional one.

T4

The result was a turrón with the looks of the Jijona kind but the flavor was similar to Guirlache’s.

I like that this is a dessert that you can put in the Christmas table and people serve themselves during the after-dinner. In my family, we use to eat turrones after dessert!

T2

Enjoy!

Turrón (my own way): 1 turrón of 26cm x 8cm

  • 450g roasted almonds
  • 100g honey

 

  • Grind the roasted almonds in the food processor until they are about to transform in butter. It is nice to have bigger pieces of almonds so it can be uneven. If it is a little buttery, it’s ok too (see picture below).

T1

  • Add honey and mix in the food processor until well combined.
  • Line a pan (I used a rectangular one of 26cmx8cm) with parchment paper and leave some extra paper on the sides in order to be able to pull out the turrón later.
  • Put a thin layer of almonds (about one third) in the lined pan and press it with your fingers or the back of a spoon to compact the mixture.
  • Add another layer and repeat procedure until the mixture is over. It should feel very solid.
  • Put in the fridge for one or two days.
  • Get the turrón out of the mold and when you are ready to serve, cut portions with a serrated knife.

 

Serving: per 50g

Calories: 264

Total Fat (g): 20.7

Carbohydrates (g): 15.6

Protein (g): 8.7

Leave a Reply

