Chocolate Malted Cupcakes – My Italian mother condition

Last week my sister and I figured out that I’m an Italian mother even though I’m not Italian and I’m not a mother either.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I enjoy making people happy with food.

Even though cupcakes are not my favorite dessert and I know they’re not exactly a healthy option, I like to bake them because my husband loves them! That’s my main motivation!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m trying hard to have a healthier diet at home, so when I make this out-of-routine-treats I make a small batch and give some of them to neighbors, colleagues and friends.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It seems to me that everyone’s happy this way without eating half a dozen of cupcakes!

Chocolate Malted Cupcakes: 6 regular cupcakes – 12 mini cupcakes

Version adapted from Cupcakes from the Primrose Bakery

  • 90g all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • 30g chocolate malted milk powder (I used Ovaltine)
  • 56g butter at room temperature
  • 50g sugar
  • 55g light brown sugar
  • 1 medium egg at room temperature
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup low fat milk at room temperature
  • ½ tablespoon low fat plain Greek yogurt
  • Ovaltine spread for filling (optional)
  • Maltesers for decoration (optional)
  • For buttercream:
  • 110g butter at room temperature
  • 120g powder sugar
  • ½ tablespoon low fat milk
  • 2 teaspoons cacao powder
  • 3 tablespoons chocolate malted milk powder (I used Ovaltine)
  • Preheat oven at 175ºC and set your cupcake tray with paper liners.
  • Sift flour, baking powder and chocolate malted milk powder. Set aside
  • Cream butter and sugars at medium-high speed until mixture looks pale and fluffy.
  • Mix egg and vanilla extract with the batter.
  • Add half of flour mixture, and combine at low speed.
  • Add milk and yogurt and, finally, the other half of flour mixture.
  • Pour the batter in the paper liners filling only two thirds of them.
  • Bake for 18-20 minutes.
  • Let them cool.

For buttercream:

  • Mix all ingredients in an electric mixer beginning at medium speed and increasing it little by little to avoid making a mess in your kitchen with powder sugar. The buttercream will be ready when it looks like an ice cream, it will take about 3-5 minutes.
  • Open a hole in the cupcakes with an apple corer or some other similar tool when cupcakes are at room temperature.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Fill the hole with Ovaltine spread. You can use the part of the cupcake that you just pulled out to cover the spread, or you can just eat it 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Garnish with buttercream as you wish. I used some Maltesers to put on top for extra crunchiness.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serving: 1 cupcake

Calories: 443

Total Fat (g): 15.7

Carbohydrates (g): 54.6

Protein (g): 3.4

Leave a Reply

