Hazelnut & Cacao Spread

It’s been a long time since I haven’t bought Nutella. As I have some self-control issues it’s better for me not to have this kind of temptations near me. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have to choose between eating a whole Nutella jar and not eating at all.

It seems like the second choice is the healthiest.

However, I think I found an in-between option: making my own Hazelnut & Cacao Spread. Much healthier, less addictive and still delicious!

I can’t say that this spread tastes like Nutella (and you should never offer it as “Nutella”). It has a more “mature flavor”… Yeap, this definition is another invention of mine that means: flavor better appreciated as one grows older (for example, dark chocolate).

Try it with your favorite baked goods in breakfast… I’m pretty sure you will love it! 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hazelnut & Cacao Spread: about one cup and a half

Version adapted from Silk and Spice

  • 1 cup hazelnuts
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cacao powder (I used Dutch processed)
  • 3 tablespoons agave syrup (or maple syrup)
  • 1/2 cup low fat milk (use almond milk for vegan version)
  • 1 tablespoon nut oil (I used walnut oil)
  • a dash of salt

 

  • Preheat oven at 200ºC.
  • Put the hazelnuts in a baking tray and roast them in the oven for about 10 minutes or until you feel the nut smell coming out from the oven.
  • Remove skins from the hazelnuts with your hands or rubbing them with a paper towel. They don’t have to end up perfectly peeled.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Blend hazelnuts in a food processor until a paste is formed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Add the rest of ingredients and blend until it looks even.

 

Serving: 1 tablespoon

Calories: 46

Total Fat (g): 3.6

Carbohydrates (g): 3.4

Protein (g): 1.0

2 thoughts on “Hazelnut & Cacao Spread

Leave a Reply

