Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

I have a huge weakness for spreadable stuff.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nut butters, Nutella, cream cheese, marmalades, Ovaltine spread, white chocolate spread… The thicker, the better! I just love to grab a spoon and eat without limits!

Recently, I discovered Speculoos cookies, and better yet, Speculoos spread! I had an urge to try it and I got a jar.

These spreadable things are not my husband’s favorite treat, so I ate about a have of the jar all by myself! I had to make something with the rest of the Speculoos spread so I wouldn’t be the only one tempted around the house.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found this great granola bar recipe in Sally’s blog which tastes like a chewy chocolate chip cookie full of fiber with about 110 calories per bar.

The flavor of these bars make you feel like you’re cheating on your diet but you’re actually not 🙂

Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars: 12 bars 3cm x 4cm

Recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction

  • 150g Speculoos spread
  • 12g coconut oil (I used nut oil because I haven’t found where to buy coconut oil in Luxembourg)
  • 75g honey
  • 1 medium egg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 230g old fashion rolled oats
  • 9g light brown sugar
  • Dash of salt
  • 110g chocolate chips
  • Preheat oven at 170ºC.
  • Line a baking pan with parchment paper (mine was 12cm x 12cm).
  • Melt the Speculoos spread with coconut oil (or nut oil) in the stove or microwave.
  • Stir until smooth.
  • Mix melted mixture with honey, egg and vanilla extract.
  • Add oats, brown sugar and salt.
  • Fold chocolate chips into the mixture.
  • Put the dough in the baking pan and press with the spatula until it is even.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Bake about 20 minutes or until edges look brownish.
  • Let cool completely.
  • Get the big square out of the baking pan and cut bars on your preferred form and size.
  • Keep them in an air proof container.

Serving: 1 bar

Calories: 108

Total Fat (g): 6.4

Carbohydrates (g): 11.8

Protein (g): 1.3

Leave a Reply

