Raw or Roasted Almond Butter?

I know. I’m being a bit repetitive with nut butters, but I just discovered roasted almond butter!

RTA1

I also discovered that I love to roast nuts.

The smell coming out from the oven while roasting almonds is fantastic!

I wish my house could smell like that all the time! But is it possible? I guess that even though I spent all my days roasting nuts, it wouldn’t work.

Sadly, no matter how wonderful an aroma is, our noses get bored and stop smelling. I don’t expect to give a scientific explanation of this phenomenon to stay out of trouble, but I’m sure you know what I mean.

Both almond butters are amazingly different. The roasted one has a darker color and its flavor is much stronger and intense.

RTA2

Our favorite? My family chose the roasted almond butter as their favorite but I still prefer the tender flavor of raw almond butter. Though, we agreed that it’s nice to have the variety of both versions 🙂

Almond Butter:

Almonds (make sure you have enough almonds for your food processor size, if you have too few, you will never get the buttery texture. For mine, between 2 and 3 cups of almonds is fine)

Sweetener of your choice (I didn’t use, but you can use honey, agave or maple syrup)

(In case you want to make the roasted version)

Preheat oven at 170ºC.

Distribute almonds in a baking sheet.

Toast almonds in the oven for 8-10 minutes. It will depend on your oven but the smell will tell you when they’re ready.

(For both versions)

Put the almonds in the food processor and blend until you have the butter texture. It took me about 25 minutes making the raw butter and about 12 the roasted one. Scrap the sides of the food processor as many times you need to.

Serving: 100g

Calories: 633

Total Fat (g): 59.1

Carbohydrates (g): 21.2

Protein (g): 15.1

7 thoughts on “Raw or Roasted Almond Butter?

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Bars | The oven diaries

  2. Pingback: Healthy Chocolate Chip Blondies (grain free) | The oven diaries

  3. Pingback: Raw Almond & Coconut Frozen Fudge – No Bake! | The oven diaries

Leave a Reply

