Making the most of leftovers: Apple & Raisin Oatmeal Bars

I’ve been looking for a healthy recipe of apple oatmeal bars in which I could use an applesauce I had in my fridge for two months (I needed space in my tiny fridge) and the last of the many apples left by my family in law (during their visit we didn’t eat as much apples as we thought we would… We focused on chocolates).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t find a recipe suitable to take advantage of the ingredients I had, so I made up my own.

I would have liked that the bars were more compact and a little less muffin-like, but the intense apple flavor was exactly what I was looking for.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not sure if the bars could be denser by adding some fat (egg or a nut butter), but I will definitely add almond butter next time I do this recipe.

Apple & Raisin Oatmeal Bars: 12 bars of 5cm x 3cm

  • 175g unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 small apple (125g)
  • 40g whole wheat flour
  • 60g old fashioned rolled oats
  • 55g light brown sugar
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • Dash of salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 40g sliced almonds
  • 40g raisins
  • Preheat oven at 170ºC. Line a baking pan (mine was 10cm x 20cm) with parchment paper.
  • Mix applesauce and vanilla extract in a bowl.
  • Cut apple in small dices.
  • Mix all dry ingredients in another bowl until they are evenly distributed.
  • Pour the applesauce in the bowl with dry ingredients.
  • Put the mixture in the baking pan and press with a spatula until it is even.
  • Bake for 20 minutes until the dough gets golden brown.
  • Let cool completely.
  • Cut bars with a serrated knife.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serving: 1 bar

Calories: 88

Total Fat: 2.2g

Carbohydrates: 16.6g

Proteins: 1.9g

Leave a Reply

