Back to routine with Peach Crumble

In the past weeks I’ve been traveling around the Benelux area. My family in law came to Luxembourg to visit us and we decided to go for a cool-inary tour that involved beer, chocolate and waffles 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As much as I love chocolate and simple carbohydrates my body knew it was about time to go back to my routine. Sadly, my vacation was over and those ice cream lunches couldn’t go on.

I will try to avoid extreme calorie loaded desserts for some weeks (or few days?). This is why I made these crumbles in tiny individual servings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wanted to cook something fruity yesterday but we didn’t have much in our kitchen, just peaches. I also had the ingredients to make a crumble, but with peaches? I have been so fascinated by apple crumble that I haven’t been too numbed to think about other fruit crumble options… Sorry, my bad!

I made the crumble according to Joy the Baker recipe with a nice coconut touch.

Check out the red juice coming out from the peaches in the oven… So cool!

Peach Crumble: 3 small crumbles

For the filling:

  • 2 Peaches (250g)
  • 20g dried cranberries (or raisins)
  • 15g light brown sugar
  • ½ tablespoon (5g) cornstarch
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon

For the crumble:

  • 32g all-purpose flour
  • 55g light brown sugar
  • 25g rolled old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon (6g) shredded coconut
  • 1 tablespoon (7g) slivered almonds
  • 28g cold butter
  • Preheat oven at 175ºC.
  • Cut peaches in small squares (more or less).
  • Mix peaches with the rest of the filling ingredients in a bowl.
  • Combine all the dry ingredients of the crumble in another bowl until the look even and add the butter in small cubes.
  • Knead with your hands until it is grainy. Butter pieces will look uneven.
  • Add the peaches in ovenproof serving plates.
  • Put a lot of crumble on top.
  • Bake for 20 minutes until golden brown. You will be able to see bubbling red juice if you use translucent dishes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serving: 1 crumble

Calories: 389

Total Fat: 20.2g

Carbohydrates: 53.6g

Proteins: 4.7g

Leave a Reply

