Reconciliation with my oven: Tropical Bread

Some days ago, I decided that my break up with my oven couldn’t go on. This bread is my first step towards my reconciliation with him.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our relationship problems started in summer because, as my kitchen is integrated with my living room, the oven heated the whole space. I felt suffocated every time I turned it on. Besides, I tend to associate the oven with greasy recipes, specifically with butter and, for me, butter + hot weather just doesn’t match.

So, in order to reconcile with my oven, I decided to:

  1. Dress accordingly and wear a ponytail to start fresh.
  2. Prepare my favorite refreshing drink (a simple-boring big glass of chilled water).
  3. Bake something low fat and fruity.

This bread is thick and moist. You can adjust the sugar depending on how ripened your bananas are. If they are very ripened, I suggest using only 100g of sugar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tropical Bread: 1 bread of 10×30 centimeters

  • 200g whole wheat flour
  • 1 ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 60g shredded coconut
  • 70g chopped walnuts
  • 3 mashed bananas
  • 120g light brown sugar
  • 180g pureed pineapple
  • 1 ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup apple sauce
  • Additional shredded coconut to garnish (optional)
  • Preheat oven at 175C.
  • Grease the baking pan. I used one of 10×30 centimeters
  • Whisk all dry ingredients in a bowl.
  • Mix all wet ingredients in another bowl.
  • Pour the wet ingredients mixture over the dry ingredients and mix them with a spatula. It is very important that you only mix until ingredients are combined with some crumbs still because if you over do it, the bread will be hard and rubbery.
  • Put the batter in the baking pan and, if you wish, you can garnish the top of the cake with shredded coconut.
  • Bake for about 40 minutes, or until cake taster comes out humid but clean.
  • Let the bread cool down and enjoy 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serving: per 100g

Calories: 242

Total Fat: 9.1g

Carbohydrates: 40.0g

Proteins: 4.7g

Leave a Reply

