Summer laziness

Let me tell you something: I don’t get along with extreme hot weather. I’m usually very excited when summer is about to come but after some weeks of 30ºC humid weather, I avoid cooking in the oven, running after noon and, definitely, I can’t stand moisturizer body lotions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is my first summer in Luxembourg and it has been much more humidity that I’m used to and I have no air conditioning! This is why I’m mainly eating easy-cold food. This means: No oven, no stove. Just cut some goodies, mix together and eat.

So, the truth is that these popsicles aren’t exactly “award winning material” but they are a nice refreshing, easy to make and bikini friendly option for summer… Nowadays, these features are pretty cool to me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to go for a tropical smoothie as this is the only option that fits my budget to buy tropical fruits.

This recipe doesn’t have exact measures… It’s part of its easiness. Fill free to adjust ingredients according to your preferences.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lazy Tropical Popsicles:

  • Vanilla yogurt
  • Your favorite smoothie or the one you have in your fridge. I used a mango, passion fruit and pineapple smoothie.
  • Take as much plastic cups as ice creams you want to make.
  • Add a layer of smoothie in the cups and place them in the freezer for one hour.
  • Mix vanilla yogurt with smoothie in a bowl (about half and half).
  • Take the cups out of the fridge and add a layer of yogurt-smoothie mix.
  • Put a stick in the center (I used a plastic straw) and freeze the cups again for another hour
  • Put a layer of vanilla yogurt and leave the ice creams in the freezer for a couple of hours more.
  • Take the ice creams out of the cups pushing carefully the bottom.

If the popsicles are too big, they will be difficult to manage when eating. Try to make them about a half or two thirds of the plastic cup high.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serving: 1 popsicle

Calories: 52

Total Fat: 0.6g

Carbohydrates: 9.0g

Proteins: 2.2g

Leave a Reply

