Kirsten’s Yogurt Pound Cake – with strawberry marmalade

When I was a kid, I was very shy. It was difficult for me to make friends at school… I even preferred to spend time with grown ups at the other kids’ birthday parties! I never believed in Santa Claus or the Tooth Fairy. Yeap… I was preeeetty weird.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

However, there was a place where I felt super confortable with other kids of my age: at Kirsten’s.

Kirsten was our neighbor and she organized weekly art workshops and English lessons for the children of the area. The classes were given in her beautiful house with a great big garden, which I’m sure, wasn’t as big as I remember it. Tuesdays (art workshop days) and Thursdays (English classes days) were my favorite days of the week. In theory, we were supposed to be there for two hours each day but we always called our parents from her kitchen phone to ask for some extra time.

YSMBC2

Kirsten was an adventurous Danish girl that fell in love with Venezuela and decided to live there far away from her family but managed to build a huge one.

Thank you, Kirsten, for giving me the space to be a kid and for sharing with my mother this simple but one of my favorite recipes in the world!

The original recipe is a pound cake with sour cream, but as we didn’t easily find sour cream in Venezuela, we’ve always substituted it with yogurt.

This time, I wanted to use some extra strawberry marmalade I had in my fridge and a brand new mini bundt cake mold that my mom recently gave me, so I made half of the recipe.

YSMBC1

Yogurt & Strawberry Mini Bundt Cakes: 12 mini bundt cakes

  • 130g all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 100g butter (room temperature)
  • 150g sugar
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 150g yogurt
  • 1/2 cup of strawberry marmalade (optional)
  • Preheat oven at 175ºC.
  • Grease the mold you’re going to use. In my case, two molds of 6 mini bundt cakes each.
  • Sift flour and baking powder. Set aside.
  • Cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer until it looks fluffy and pale at a high speed.
  • Beat eggs with a whisk or fork and add them to the mixture.
  • Add vanilla extract.
  • Set the electric mixer at low speed and add half of the flour. Don’t let flour to mix completely and add the yogurt. Finally, add the rest of the flour without over stirring.
  • Fill a third part of the mold with the batter, add about 2 teaspoons of strawberry marmalade and make it even to make a layer and fill another third of the mold with the rest of the batter.
  • (I decided to keep the marmalade as a layer but you can also mix it in the batter with a spatula before filling the molds in order to have a marble look)
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes, depending on your oven… Check that cake taster comes out with a few moist crumbs attached.

This is thick and very moist cake and it is nice with or without the marmalade.

You could also try it with Nutella!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serving: 1 mini bundt cake

Calories: 184

Total Fat: 7.7g

Carbohydrates: 25.8g

Proteins: 2.8g

5 thoughts on “Kirsten’s Yogurt Pound Cake – with strawberry marmalade

  1. Hi Marianne,

    Your pictures looked so appetizing that my sister and I made these cakes this weekend. They were delicious! We planned to have them for a nice and healthy sunday breakfast, they do have yogurt and fruit in them right? 😉 But they were so good that we ate them all straight from the oven!

    Greetings from the Netherlands,
    Janneke

  2. Pingback: More surprises! Liebster Award | The oven diaries

Leave a Reply

