My wedding cake: Marquise au chocolat

I have such great memories related to this cake… There are a lot of variations, but the one I love is the one that my grandma used to make when I was little and the one my husband’s aunt makes. I have tried to nail this dessert but the truth is… it tastes better when it is made for you :). My husband and I are so in love with this cake that we asked his aunt to make a huge one for our wedding.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recently I found out that the secret of this cake is to make the chocolate cream with margarine. I NEVER use margarine at all. I don’t like its taste and it isn’t good for cooking due to some chemical reason that my brother in law explained to me as: “it’s not stable”. However, I bought some margarine by mistake because the package said beurre, once I opened it I felt it too fluffy, but I continued making the cake… When the cake was in the freezer, I took a look at the components and it was vegetable… Agrrrrr! I was sooo angry, but when we tasted it, it was very good. At last, my husband liked my Marcquoise au chocolat as much as his aunt’s 🙂 🙂 🙂

This is a kids’ friendly cake and also a nice option for any summer celebration because it is served cold.

This is the recipe:

Marquise au chocolat (Chocolate & Cookie Layer Cake): 1 cake – 16 centimeters diameter and 11 centimeters tall

Version adapted from Scannone

  • 225g dark unsweetened chocolate. If you’re making this cake for kids (or my husband), you could substitute some of this dark chocolate for milk chocolate. In this case, I recommend 150g dark chocolate and 75g of milk chocolate.
  • 90ml low fat milk
  • 375g margarine
  • 350g powder sugar
  • 9 yolks
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 egg whites
  • 1 and 1/2 package of milk cookies (about 60 cookies of those in the picture below)
  • Chocolate sprinkles to garnish (optional)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Cut chocolate in small pieces.
  • Melt chocolate with milk in a saucepan at low temperature. Set apart and let cool.
  • Cream margarine with an electric mixer.
  • Add sugar slowly until it looks very fluffy (about 5 minutes).
  • Mix yolks, one at a time.
  • Add vanilla extract.
  • At this point, I suggest to stop the electric mixer and to scrap the cream of the bottom and sides of the bowl with a spatula. Turn on the electric mixer again.
  • Meanwhile, whip egg whites into soft peaks.
  • Add egg whites and melted chocolate (already cold) alternating them.
  • Line your cake pan with cooking film paper leaving some extra paper in the edges.
  • Put a layer of chocolate cream and then a layer of cookies. Cut cookies to fill the spaces that weren’t covered by the whole cookies. You don’t have to obsess about this step, but don’t leave a lot of cookie-unfilled spaces.
  • Repeat the process and try to add the same amount of chocolate cream in each layer. End with a cookie layer. You should have some extra chocolate cream to add a layer of cream all over the cake after taking it out of the mold.
  • Freeze for a couple of hours (or overnight) and put the extra chocolate cream in the refrigerator.
  • Take the cake out of the mold by putting it upside down in the serving plate and pulling the flaps of cooking film paper out of the mold.
  • Use the extra chocolate cream to amend damages during the demolding and to garnish as you wish. I also used chocolate sprinkles J
  • As I had chocolate cream leftover, I crushed some cookies and added them to the cream for individual servings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m sorry I didn’t make pictures of the cake slices but it was for a dinner for my husband’s boss and his wife, so I couldn’t make them :(… Next time I will!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serving: per 100g

Calories: 391

Total Fat: 23.6g

Carbohydrates: 46.7g

Proteins: 6.9g

Leave a Reply

