Nuts About Nut Butters

Earlier this week, I decided to get some nuts from the supermarket to make different nut butters and show them to you. Despite my (almost) unconditional love for hazelnuts, I grabbed macadamias, almonds, peanuts and cashews. I didn’t make hazelnut butter because I don’t find it fascinating enough and it’s too much work to peel them and butterize them (yes, I just invented that word).

This post is “recipe-free” so… the only thing you would have to do is: pick the nut you want to turn into butter, put it in the food processor and relax with earplugs on if it’s possible!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made the four butters one after another. They were pretty quick to make but the almond butter took 30 minutes to butterize. I started to see and taste how different were each one of the butters and all of them had so much character. At the end, I had some time to think… Nothing profound or transcendental, just random thoughts.

Collage cucharas

When I finished the classic peanut butter, I though: this is the king of all nut butters. It is strong, defined and charming. So, if peanut butter were the nut-butter-king, the queen would be definitely the almond butter. It has a delicate flavor but still profound and a texture hard to achieve. Then, cashew butter would be the prince of the nut-butter family, fascinating but a little too thick. Macadamia butter would be the princess, subtle and light.

Nonsense? I’d better not write about what I think while I’m running!

Peanut butter: it took about 3 minutes in the food processor. I like it with some texture.

Collage P

Almond butter: I had to wait for about half an hour to see the magic happen. The final texture is drier than the peanut butter’s.

Collage A

Cashew butter: the process lasted a little bit more than with the peanuts and the final consistency was similar to the almond butter.

Collage C

Macadamia butter: this was the faster one in being butterized. The final result is very liquid with around 2 minutes of processing.

Collage M

Enjoy these nut butters with your cookies, bars, oatmeal, toasts… Almost with whatever you can think of!

Serving: per 100g peanut butter

Calories: 588

Total Fat: 50.4g

Carbohydrates: 19.6g

Proteins: 25.1g

Serving: per 100g almond butter

Calories: 633

Total Fat: 59.1g

Carbohydrates: 21.2g

Proteins: 15.1g

Serving: per 100g cashew butter

Calories: 553

Total Fat: 43.9g

Carbohydrates: 30.2g

Proteins: 18.2g

Serving: per 100g macadamia butter

Calories: 718

Total Fat: 75.8g

Carbohydrates: 13.8g

Proteins: 7.9g

11 thoughts on “Nuts About Nut Butters

  1. Pingback: Turning point: Chocolate & peanut butter ice cream | The oven diaries

  2. So amazing.YUM. I am currently in Latin America for the summer, so I’ve been without peanut butter/any nut butter for about six weeks now. Three and a half more to go! And I’m drooling over my computer screen over here looking at those photos–love the composition with all of the photos together!

    • Good luck with the remaining three and a half weeks of your trip! I am from Venezuela and the whole nut butter thing is kind of new to me and I can’t get enough of them!

  3. Pingback: Road-tripping time! – Macadamia & oatmeal bars | The oven diaries

  4. Pingback: Cold-easy-cooking – Mode On | The oven diaries

  5. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cookies | The oven diaries

  6. Pingback: Life doesn’t get any better than this… Peanut Butter & Chocolate Spread | The oven diaries

  7. Pingback: Deadlines | The oven diaries

  8. Pingback: Summer Summary | The oven diaries

  9. Pingback: High Protein Cookie Dough Bites | The oven diaries

  10. Pingback: Peanut Butter & Chocolate Bars – No Bake! | The oven diaries

Leave a Reply

