Almond & Orange Curd Mini Layer Cakes

Last year I made for the first time a lemon curd and I truly loved it. The texture, the smooth taste and the bizarre look (it seems a bit translucent, but in fact, it isn’t) fascinated me. Recently, I decided to go for the orange curd.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The truth is that I decided to make this curd differently than the lemon curd. That first time I cook it in a bain marie. The second time I got greedy and I cook it directly in the stove to accelerate the process. Unfortunately, it didn’t work that well because I got lumps :(. My recommendation is to be patient and do it in a bain marie unless you are very experienced doing these creams.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

However, I didn’t want to waste the orange curd I had in my fridge and I’m glad I used it because the combination with this almond cake was heavenly… Yes! I almost felt I was floating while I ate it. The lumps couldn’t be noticed 🙂

I only made cake enough for two mini layer cakes but if you want to make some more, just multiply the recipe.

I hope you enjoy this dessert!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Almond & Orange Curd Mini Layer Cakes: 2 mini layer cakes – 6cm diameter – 4 layer high

For cake:

  • 50g all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • Dash of salt
  • 70g ground almonds
  • 40g butter at room temperature
  • 110g sugar
  • 1 medium egg
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 120ml low fat milk
  • Preheat oven at 170ºC.
  • Set a cake pan with baking sheet. The idea is to make a thin layer, so it will depend on the mold. I used the same layer cake pan from my Hazelnut & Nutella Layer Cake (16 centimeters diameter) and I baked two layers separately one after another.
  • Sift flour, baking powder and salt.
  • Add ground almonds and stir with a fork until they are evenly distributed in the flour mixture. Set aside.
  • Cream butter and sugar in an electric mixer.
  • Add eggs and vanilla extract.
  • Add flour-almond mix alternating with milk.
  • Bake batter in 2 even parts for 18-20 minutes each.
  • Let the layers cool in a rack.

For orange curd: about half a cup

Version of this recipe

  • 1 medium egg
  • 1 yolk
  • 1 tablespoon orange zest
  • ¼ cup of orange juice
  • 50g sugar
  • Dash of salt
  • 35g butter cut in small squares
  • Boil water in a saucepan and set a lower temperature enough to keep it boiling.
  • Mix the egg, yolk, orange zest, orange juice, sugar and salt in a bowl.
  • Add butter.
  • Put the bowl on top of the saucepan with the boiling water and stir constantly with a wooden spoon until the texture is thick enough to stick in the spoon and make a groove when you let your finger pass through it. This should take about 10 to 15 minutes.
  • Strain the cream to have a finer curd without the orange zest (this time, I left the orange zest)
  • Let cool with film paper stuck to the curd in order to avoid forming a crust.
  • Cut the mini layer cakes with a circle shaped cutter mold (the one I used is 6cm diameter)
  • Put a layer of cake in a serving plate, add a layer of orange curd with the help of a spatula, put another layer of cake and so on until you have 4 layers of cake and 3 of orange curd.
  • Be careful handling the cake because it is very moist. Use a spatula big enough to grab the whole mini layer when you are setting up the dessert.

I added more moisture to the layers by adding some orange syrup that I still had when I made the Orange Confit  but you can also make a simpler orange syrup by heating in the stove or the microwave 3 tablespoons of orange juice and 2 tablespoons of sugar until sugar is melted.

Have an orangey weekend!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Serving: 1 mini layer cake

Calories: 832

Total Fat: 44.0g

Carbohydrates: 92.8g

Proteins: 19.9g

Leave a Reply

