Hazelnut & Nutella Layer Cake

I made this layer cake last week for my sister’s birthday and we devoured it in less than 48 hours!

At some moment I had the idea of making a Nutella Buttercream in order to have a more structured cake, but I know that, as well as I, my sister prefers to eat Nutella in its pure form. With that in mind, I thought that I couldn’t mix Nutella with butter and other not-so-magnificent ingredients just for the cake’s appearance! No way…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I stuck to my plan of using just Nutella with the fear that the hot weather wouldn’t allow the Nutella to maintain the layers of cake together, but it turned out perfect! This cake was super easy to make, I loved how it looked like and the taste was delicious. It has a strong hazelnut flavor that is not hidden by Nutella layers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you are a devoted Nutella fan as I am, don’t hesitate to try this recipe!

Happy Birthday, sis!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hazelnut & Nutella Layer Cake: 1 cake – 16cm diameter – 4 layer high

  • 240g all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 200g hazelnuts chopped in food processor (I got an uneven texture because I love finding big pieces in the cake. It gives a rustic touch to the cake)
  • 80g butter (room temperature)
  • 210g sugar
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 250ml low fat milk
  • 750g Nutella pack
  • Additional chopped hazelnuts to garnish
  • Preheat oven at 170ºC.
  • Grease and flour the cake pan. There are special layer cake molds to make individual layers but I don’t have enough space in my oven so I used one layer cake pan of 16 centimeters diameter and I baked the layers separately one after another. You could also bake all the batter in the same pan and cut the layers yourself, but I find the other way easier.
  • Sift flour, baking powder and salt.
  • Add chopped hazelnuts to flour and mix with a fork until they are evenly distributed.
  • Cream butter with sugar in an electric mixer until it looks pale and fluffy.
  • Add eggs.
  • Add flour-hazelnut mix alternating with milk.
  • Bake batter in 4 even parts (around 260g each) for 18-20 minutes. Measure the batter of each layer to make sure they will look the same at the end.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Prepare a cooling rack with a baking sheet.
  • Put the cakes coming out of the oven upside down in the cooling rack so the rack flats the “tummies”.
  • Wait until cakes are cold.
  • Put a one of the cakes and add 4 tablespoons of Nutella.
  • Spread the Nutella with a spatula and you should get a layer of about 5 millimeters without covering until de edges.
  • Put other cake and press it down a little so the Nutella spreads a little more to the edges.
  • Add other 4 tablespoons of Nutella and continue the procedure.
  • Add chopped hazelnuts on top.

HNLC7

If you want to assemble the cake another day, you can wrap the layers with plastic wrap and freeze them. The day you want to assemble the cake, you can let the layers defrost in a rack for a couple of hours, remove the plastic wrap and start to assemble it. This is what I usually do.

Serving: per 100g

Calories: 434

Total Fat: 17.3g

Carbohydrates: 27.8g

Proteins: 3.7g

Leave a Reply

