Orange Confit 1 – Magnolia Bakery Cookbook 0

After more than 3 weeks, I finally received a package that I’ve been waiting for: Cupcakes from the Primrose Bakery and The Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook.

Image

I was soooo happy! I was making orange confit and I decided not to glance through the books until I finished my duties in the kitchen. My plan was to sit on my sofa, relax and take a look at the books and, hopefully, being confused about which recipe I would try among all the appealing options.

Sadly, it was not like that. Fortunately, the orange confit was beautiful and delicious.

Image

I had a huge disappointment when I opened The Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook because I hardly found a couple of pictures! Magnolia Bakery is the place where the Sex and the City girls ate their cupcakes, so I assumed that the book was going to be as stunning as fashion was in the show. Yes, maybe I had my expectations were too high, without foundations and I didn’t research about the book but, on my defense, cookbooks should be delightful to look at and, honestly, this one wasn’t. However, I will certainly try some of the recipes and I’ll let you know about the results. I think I’ll try the lemon bars because I’ve read that they’re awesome.

I enjoyed my first glance of Cupcakes from the Primrose Bakery and I have my choice for the first recipe I’ll try 😉

I’ll leave the Orange Confit recipe for you:

Orange Confit: about 10 orange slices

Original recipe

  • 1 orange
  • 250g sugar
  • 300ml (1¼ cup) water
  • ½ tablespoon of light corn syrup or glucose (in Luxembourg, I bought light and dark corn syrup in Americana online shop)

Image

  • Cut orange in slices of 0.5 centimeters.
  • Put all ingredients in a big pot at a low-medium temperature. Orange slices shouldn’t be piled up, maximum one on top of another. Glucose or corn syrup will avoid crystallizations in the orange confit.
  • Caramelize for about 1 hour. The slices will be translucent and the texture of the liquid will be as thick as syrup.
  • Keep them with the orange syrup resulted from the previous process in an air proof container and with baking paper between the orange slices.

Image

If you want to garnish the orange confit, you can dry the orange slices in a strainer over the night and dip them in sugar or in melted chocolate (consider that melting chocolate is not as simple as putting it in the microwave, only do it if you really know how to or wait for my post which will explain how :))

Serving: 1 orange slice + syrup

Calories: 105

Total Fat: 0.0g

Carbohydrates: 27.0g

Proteins: 0.1g

Leave a Reply

