Classic Brownies – with or without nuts

Honestly, I don’t love brownies… I don’t know exactly why but they’re not my cup of tea. However, this is the kind of treats that I really want to be able to nail, so my future children, nephews and nieces love me for what I bake (yeah… If it depended on me, they would have a lot of extra pounds). Therefore, I’ve been looking for a great classic brownie recipe.

B1

During one of my long visits in Pinterest I saw a fudgy-brownie picture that made my mouth melt and I decided to go for that recipe.

B2

I did over bake them a little but still, they were irresistible! Definitely, now these brownies are my cup of tea… While I was writing this post I ate more than I should. It was difficult not to… it was cold and hailing in Luxembourg and a bunch of brownies were screaming at me: eat us!

Classic Brownies: 45 brownies

Version adapted from Saltbox House / Gluten free version

Brownie cake:

  • 226g unsalted butter
  • 41g unsweetened cacao powder
  • 260g all-purpose flour
  • 375g sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 4 medium eggs
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 100g chopped walnuts (optional)

Chocolate icing:

  • 56g softened butter
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used low fat milk)
  • 20g unsweetened cacao powder
  • 345gr icing sugar
  • Dash of salt
  • Preheat oven at 175ºC
  • Grease and flour a baking pan (I used 23cmx33cm)
  • Melt butter in microwave or in the stove in medium temperature, leaving some solid pieces and then melting them by stirring with a wooden spoon.

Mantequilla

  • Mix melted butter with cacao until smooth.
  • Add sugar, flour and salt and, when they are mixed, add eggs, vanilla and lastly, the chopped nuts if you want them in your brownies (I did).
  • Pour batter in your baking pan and spread it evenly.

Steps

  • Bake for 20-25 minutes. Attention in this point! I baked them for 23 minutes and I believe that 20 minutes would have been enough… Keep checking them and try to find the perfect consistency according to your oven by inserting a cake tester. It is ok when it comes out a little moist.

While the cake is in the oven…

  • Mix all the ingredients of the chocolate icing in an electric mixer.
  • When the cake is ready, wait 5 minutes and take it out from the baking pan.
  • Wait until the cake is warm and decorate with chocolate icing as you wish. It will melt a little and it will crystalize.
  • Cut the cake into brownies, mine were about 4x3cm.

Corte

Try not to eat them all!

Serving: 1 brownie

Calories: 59

Total Fat: 4.2g

Carbohydrates: 4.7g

Proteins: 0.8g

Leave a Reply

